By clicking on or navigating the site, you agree to allow us to collect information on and off Studee through cookies. Studee cookies policy

Where will international students be studying in 2024?

A study carried out the British Council looked into what will be the most popular destinations for international students by 2024 - and which countries they are most likely to come from.

The Postgraduate Student Mobility Trends to 2024 report is based on global data and historic trends, and names the six destinations that will take in the most international students by 2024 as Australia, Canada, Germany, Japan, the United Kingdom and the United States.

The US will remain the number one choice for international postgraduates with 407,000, followed the by the UK, which will host 241,000; Germany (113,000) and Australia (112,000.)

As is the case now, Chinese students will continue to travel abroad in their droves over the next ten years. China is expected to remain the biggest exporter of international postgraduate students, with a predicted 338,000 studying overseas by 2024.

Nigeria is expected to see the biggest increase in students pursuing postgraduate education outside of the country, with mobility increasing at a rate of 8.3% per year.

India will have the most students in higher education overall, with 48 million, and this is partly due to its young population.

The numbers of Indian postgraduate students studying in the US and Chinese postgraduate students studying in the UK is expected to increase, accounting for 54% and 44% growth in each country respectively.

Director of research in Education Intelligence at the British Council, Zainab Malik, predicted at the time of the report that alongside China and India it will be Nigeria, Saudi Arabia, Indonesia and Pakistan that become “key postgraduate markets by 2024” – meaning that more students from these countries will be studying abroad for their postgraduate qualifications.

There are 23 ‘origin’ countries for postgraduate students in total: Canada, China, France, Germany, Greece, India, Indonesia, Iran, Italy, Malaysia, Mexico, Nigeria, Pakistan, Poland, Republic of Korea, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Spain, Taiwan, Thailand, Turkey, the United States and Vietnam.